Pantry Cooking: Spaghetti Puttanesca with Flaked Tuna

Tonight’s dinner: Spaghetti Puttanesca with Flaked Tuna

This is another great recipe from my America’s Test Kitchen 30 Minute Suppers recipe booklet. I like it because it tastes awesome, you can prepare it quickly, and because I always have all the ingredients in my pantry.

Ingredients

3 Tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil

4 anchovy fillets, minced

4 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes

2 (14.5-oz.) cans petite diced tomatoes (I used 1, 28-oz. can)

2 (6 oz.) cans tuna packed in water, drained and flaked

1/2 C pitted kalamata olives, chopped

2 Tbsp drained capers

3 Tbsp choped fresh parsley

1 lb. spaghetti

Method

1. Bring 4 quarts of water to boil in a large pot. Heat oil in large skillet over medium-high heat until just smoking. Add anchovies, garlic and pepper flakes and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds.

2. Add tomatoes and cook until slightly thickened, about 8 minutes. Add tuna, olives and capers, and cook, breaking up any large tuna chunks, until heated through, about two minutes. Off heat, stin in parsley. Cover and keep warm.

3. Add spaghetti and 1 Tbsp. salt to boiling water and cook until al dente. Reserve 1/2 C. cooking water, drain pasta and return to pot. Add sauce and toss to combine, adding reserved pasta water as needed (I didn’t use any). Season with salt and pepper and serve.

Modifications

1. The recipe calls for 1 lb. of pasta to serve four people.  Since I was just cooking for Eric and I me, I only used a half pound of pasta, but I still cooked all of the sauce.  A half pound of pasta yielded two healthy servings for Eric and me as well as leftovers for lunch tomorrow.

2. I used Barilla’s whole grain spaghetti.

Other notes

1. The garlic came from my CSA.

2. I made a salad to go with the pasta. The leaf lettuce came from the last week of my CSA–the week before Christmas. I finally used up all the lettuce tonight.

One thought on “Pantry Cooking: Spaghetti Puttanesca with Flaked Tuna

Leave a Reply

