Thank You Cooking Light (And Allyson)

I've been cooking from the November 2009 issue of Cooking Light this week.

When I was at my aunt’s house last week for Thanksgiving, she gave me some copies of Cooking Light magazine, the October, November and December 2009 issues .  I will be grateful for these magazines for a while:  Before Allyson, my aunt, gave them to me, I was–if you can believe it–in a culinary rut. Each Saturday when it came time for me to make my grocery list and figure out what dinners  I planned to cook that week, I was at loss.  I was tired of everything I had been making.  I’d pore over my cookbooks and cooking magazines, yet I couldn’t identify anything that excited me.  I felt like I was making the same dishes over and over, and indeed I was.  The issues of Cooking Light that my aunt gave to me provided me with exactly what I needed: Inspiration.

Eric and I have enjoyed an absolutely delicious dinner every night this week, thanks to the plethora of mouth-watering recipes in the November 2009 issue. Consider this:

On Sunday, Eric made scallop piccata with angel hair pasta and sautéed spinach.

On Monday, I made lamb chops and couscous studded with feta cheese, grape tomatoes and olives.

On Tuesday, I prepared a chicken tagine with butternut squash.  I served it with leftover couscous and roasted brussel sprouts.

And tonight I cooked pork tenderloin medallions in a pomegranate cherry sauce. I served the pork with brown basmati rice, steamed broccoli and roasted butternut squash.

Tomorrow night we’re having steak. I’m not sure what we’ll have for dinner Friday night, but I know when I have to make my grocery list this Saturday for the following week, I’ll have many options thanks to those Cooking Light magazines.

Leave a Reply

