A+ Dinner: Italian Sausage and Rapini

I prepared an awesome dinner tonight: I cooked Italian sausage in diced tomatoes with crushed garlic. I made a salad of mixed, spicy greens, which I dressed in a balsamic vinaigrette. I made the crispiest, chewiest garlic bread from a sourdough boule. And I sautéed a bunch of rapini.

Rapini, I discovered through Google this weekend, is the same thing as broccoli raab.  When I found out that I unknowingly picked up in my CSA this past weekend a bunch of broccoli raab (which Clear Brook Farm had marketed as rapini) I was disappointed.  As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not too fond of broccoli raab’s bitter flavor.  But in the interest of incorporating more veggies into my diet and eating all the vegetables I get in my CSA before they go bad, I prepared it to go with this geshmak meal of Italian sausage and buttery garlic bread.  

I found a Rachel Ray recipe that sounded like it would make the rapini palatable.  It called for first sautéing the rapini in olive oil with sliced garlic, then simmering it in some chicken stock to mellow the bitterness of the greens. The technique worked, and the chicken stock gave the rapini a pleasant flavor.  Had I not bought the rapini myself, I never would have known what I had cooked was brocoli raab.  

Eric wasn’t in the mood for the cooked greens, so I wound up eating all the broccoli raab. 

Speaking of Eric, he just came into the living room with a big mug of hot chocolate topped with whipped cream for me, so my top priority now is downing this hot chocolate before it gets cold.

Leave a Reply

