Better Roasted Vegetables

I’ve been roasting a lot of vegetables this fall because I’m getting so many in my CSA each week, but I haven’t been entirely happy with the way they’ve been coming out. 

When I cook them, I roast a variety of vegetables on the same rimmed baking sheet, usually some combination of beets, carrots, sweet potatoes, brussell sprouts and cauliflower.  I try to cut all the veggies so that they’re approximately the same size.  I drizzle them with olive oil, sprinkle them with salt and pepper, give them a good toss, and roast them in a 425 degree oven for 40 to 60 minutes.  Every 20 minutes, I toss them on the baking sheet. 

They always taste delicious, but they get a little too brown–the beets in particular. (I guess that’s because they have such a high sugar content). In fact, my roasted vegetables always come out slightly burned.

Saturday night I roasted beets, rainbow carrots, garlic and brussell sprouts.  I cooked them at 425 degrees for only 40 minutes, I think, and they were still kind of burned. 

The next night, I roasted exactly 10 brussell sprouts exclusively.  Instead of cooking them on a rimmed baking sheet, I put them in small ceramic baking dish with low sides.  Instead of roasting them at 425, I cooked them at 350.  I tossed them at 20 minutes, and after 40 minutes, I thought they were done. The brussell sprouts weren’t burned, but they weren’t tender enough for my taste, either.  They could have incubated longer.

I’m not sure why my roasted vegetables aren’t coming out better.  They taste delicious, but they’re just too browned. I’m wondering if I’m not using enough olive oil.  I’m going to continue to roast them at a lower temperature (35o degrees) and just cook them longer.  I hope that helps.

If you have any tips or techniques for cooking roasted vegetables, I’d be much obliged if you’d share them here!

2 thoughts on “Better Roasted Vegetables

  1. Hmm. For Brussels sprouts, we do 15-20 minutes at 425. For other roots, we don’t have an exact technique, but I would reduce the time. I also think that more olive oil never hurts. We have been eating a lot of Brussels sprouts but haven’t gotten into a lot of other root roasting yet. I’ll let you know if I have any other thoughts. I would try 30 minutes to start. I think 350-400 is a good temperature range.

Leave a Reply

