Lentil Soup and Meatballs

I’m amazed at how much more I can get done with an extra hour in the day thanks to Daylight Savings Time.  After a solid night’s sleep, I tumbled out of bed at 10 minutes to 8  this morning, walked Toby and ate breakfast. Eric made scrambled eggs with Saga blue cheese, bacon, toast and capuccino.

After breakfast, I got to work on my lentil soup. The recipe I use, which comes from The Barefoot Contessa Cookbook, makes enough for eight to 10 servings. I usually halve the recipe, but this time I made the whole thing so that I could freeze some of the soup. 

When I got to the point where I needed to add the stock to the vegetables (onions, leeks, carrots, celery), I paniced: I didn’t have enough stock.  The recipe called for three quarts and I only had two, 32-ounce containers of store-bought chicken stock.  Then I remembered that I had two containers of stock in the freezer that I had made (eep!) two summers ago when Eric and I were buying organic chickens from Two Spoon Farm.  I dumped the frozen stock into the soup and was saved by my own industriousness.  Eric and I are going to have the soup for dinner tonight with a salad and some bialys our industrious friend Erica whipped up this morning. 

Next on my to-do list (after walking Toby a second time) was mixing up the ingredients for Italian-style meatballs (recipe from the February 2006 issue of Martha Stewart Living magazine), which I cooked in a couple of cans of diced tomatoes with some olive oil, garlic and crushed red pepper flakes.  Eric and I will have the meatballs for dinner tomorrow night.  I can’t decide whether to serve a salad with the meatballs, or try a recipe for wilted arugula that I found in another past issue of Martha Stewart Living magazine.  I’ve never eaten arugula cooked, and I can’t imagine what it’s like. Honestly, the idea of cooked arugula doesn’t send me, but I might make it anyway just to try something different.  On the other hand, I hate to waste the perfectly good arugula that I got in my CSA two weeks ago by cooking it.  Maybe I should just make an arugula pesto? 

What do you think? Should I make a salad to go with the meatballs, or try the wilted arugula?

3 thoughts on “Lentil Soup and Meatballs

  1. Hi Meredith. I’m an old friend of Eric’s from his MFA days. I can’t help you with your dinner (I agree, cooked arugula sounds dicey), but one of my favorite breakfasts is arugula pesto on toasted whole grain bread with a slice of tomato. Yum. Have you got Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone by Deborah Madison? It is my bible for cooking with vegetables. I enjoy your blog! Tell Eric I still plan to get to his novel.

  2. Thanks, Lailee! Eric has mentioned your name quite often.
    If I hadn’t made the wilted arugula, I would have turned it into pesto. Your breakfast sounds delicious, an I will have to look for Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone!

  3. Hi Meridith! Catching up this morning on your blog….the part where you mentioned running out of stock made me want to comment. Lately I have been using homemade vegetable stock. Sometimes if I’m out of it I make it alongside the dish I’m working on and just use it as it simmers away…. It might be good for you to use if in a bind. You just throw in whatever veggies you have on hand. We have lots of visiting vergetarians and aside from chicken soup, I have switched to homemade vegetable stock for most recipes because it’s so easy and surprisingly doesn’t make thath much of a difference in taste.

Leave a Reply

