Zucchini and Tomato Frittata with Ramps

On Mother’s Day, I cooked breakfast for my mom, dad, brother and sister-in-law.  I baked corn muffins filled with raspberry jam (à la Ina Garten) and prepared a zuchinni and tomato frittata, which I’ve made before.

The frittata recipe calls for onions, but this time I replaced them with the ramps (wild leeks) that Eric and I had picked the prior Sunday.  I’m guessing I used about 1/4 to 1/3 of a cup of chopped wild leeks (I didn’t measure.)

I honestly think the frittata turned out better because of the ramps.  Its flavor was much richer, and it smelled even more fragrant when it was cooking in the oven than I remember it smelling last year. Of course, the frittata might have tasted better this year because my mom doubled the amount of cheese that went into it.  But I really do think it was the ramps.

Leave a Reply

