Venison Sausage and Peppers over Parmesan Polenta

Tonight I cooked Eric’s venison sausage with onions and orange and yellow bell peppers for dinner.  I served the sausage and peppers over parmesan polenta. It was so yummy and satisfying!

Venison Sausage Links

Venison Sausage Links

Here we have the raw venison sausage links. The butcher in East Arlington, Riverside Custom Butchery, carved up Eric’s deer.

Cooking the Venison Sausage, Peppers and Onions

Cooking the Venison Sausage, Peppers and Onions

I find that bell peppers always take longer than onions to cook, so I added my sliced bell peppers to my frying pan first and sautéd those for a few minutes before I tossed in the onions. After a few more minutes, I placed the sausage links on the peppers and onions and covered the sauté pan with a lid so that everything steamed for a little while.  When the sausages were cooked on the outside, I removed the lid from the pan and seared the casings. I finished the sausage by slicing it and then crisping the slices in the frying pan.

Cooking the Polenta

Cooking the Polenta

Meanwhile, I boiled the polenta.  I used a recipe from the Everyday Food cookbook that calls for cooking 3/4 of a cup of polenta in four cups of water seasoned with salt and pepper.  I whisked a tablespoon of butter and some grated parmesan cheese into the polenta when it was finished.

Dinner Is Served

Dinner Is Served

Not the greatest presentation, I admit, but the sausage, onions and peppers were sooo tasty!  The polenta would have benefitted from more cheese, but it was still good.

Leave a Reply

