Southwestern Vermont Eat Local Challenge: Day 6’s Dinner Dilemma

Boy am I glad this eat local challenge is almost over.  I’m HUNGRY.  You know what I’m craving? My mom’s tuna casserole made with Kraft Macaroni & Cheese, Campbell’s Cream of Mushroom soup, Bumble Bee tuna and those french fried onions.  I’m very tempted to make this for dinner tonight. The alternative is McKenzie hot dogs, and I’m not really in the mood for a hot dog.  I am in the mood for a hot, hearty casserole.

This is a dilemma. I’m about to make dinner, and part of me really wants to stick with the eat local challenge.  The other part of me–my stomach and id–is saying, Screw the eat local challenge. You did your part. You gave it the ole college try. You’re free to resume consuming over-processed, corn-based foods that travelled hundreds of miles and consumed hundreds of gallons of oil to reach your dinner table.

Now I feel like a real shithead. Anyone else having trouble with the eat local challenge? Tell me I’m not the only one.

I wound up making the tuna casserole for dinner, and it was tasty and satisfying.  I served steamed zucchini from Clear Brook Farm with the tuna casserole, and the zucchini–even though it was beginning to show signs of rot when I sliced it and tossed it into the steamer basket–tasted fresh and delicious.

When my stomach growled around 3:30 for its afternoon snack, I ate Vermont Common Crackers smeared with Alouette Garlic and Herb cheese.  For lunch I ate some of the chicken that was leftover from last night, followed by two maple cream cookies.  A NY state peach sated me at 11 AM, 3 1/2 hours after I ate granola and yogurt for breakfast.

I must say that I’m glad tomorrow is my last day of the Eat Local Challenge. (It officially ended on Sunday, September 21, but since I didn’t start it until 9/17, I felt I should I should make up for the two days I missed on the front end.) I know, it’s pathetic of me to admit that I’m glad the eat local challenge is over, considering I ate plenty of food over the past six days that wasn’t local.

2 thoughts on “Southwestern Vermont Eat Local Challenge: Day 6’s Dinner Dilemma

Leave a Reply

