Southwestern Vermont Eat Local Challenge: Day 2

I finally got to Clear Brook Farm and to the Village Peddler yesterday on my lunch break. At Clear Brook, I bought Honey Crisp apples from Scott Farm, NY state peaches, arugula, basil, tomatoes, smoked turkey and sweet Italian sausage from Green Mountain Smoke House, bread from a bakery in Middlesex, eggs from Someday Farm in East Dorset, granola made in Manchester and another package of Putney Pasta.  That haul cost me just under $50.

At the Village Peddler I bought “Old Fashioned Squares” crackers, Castleton Crackers (made in Castleton, VT), Vermont Common Crackers, Maple Grove Farm’s maple cream sandwich cookies, Vermont Morning hot cereal (a reader recommendation) and a small box of milk chocolate non-pareils. This small haul cost me about $26.

I figured eating local for a week would cost me a lot more money than I’d normally spend for a week’s worth of groceries, but yesterday’s tab came to about $75. That’s a lot cheaper than what I normally spend on groceries, which ranges between about $100 and $120.  I still have a few more items to pick up for dinners, so it’ll be interesting to see if eating/buying local costs me more or less for my weekly food supply than my normal Clear Brook-Price Chopper shopping routine.

(I’ve also been meaning to weigh myself to see if I gain or lose weight during a week of eating local foods.)

Yesterday was a much easier day once I had done this shopping.  Here’s what I ate:

Breakfast: Home-made coffee cake and Trader Joe’s coffee. (not local)

Mid-morning snack: cantaloupe from Clear Brook Farm.

11:30 AM: Leftover Putney Pasta with home-made pesto.

Lunch (1:30 PM): Two slices of whole grain bread, hummus, tomato and cheddar cheese.

Afternoon snack: A couple of non-pareils and a cider donut. (Eric surprised me at lunch with a dozen red roses and a cider donut! He’s the best!)

Dinner: Green Mountain Smokehouse sweet Italian sausage and panzanella.

This was the first time I had tried Green Mountain Smokehouse’s sausage.  The sweet Italian links were delicious and cooked up beautifully.  They were, however, VERY fatty.  I realize it’s pork sausage, but these seemed too fatty to me (they practically cooked in their own fat), which is why I ate only one link. I will buy them again and I plan to prepare them Fenway Park style and with polenta and sauteed peppers and onions.

Dessert: A couple of non-pareils and a couple of maple cream sandwich cookies.

How’s your eat local challenge going?

One thought on “Southwestern Vermont Eat Local Challenge: Day 2

  1. Hi there,

    Sorry to be a bit off-topic here, but the reason I am writing to you from deepest France is because at Farm Blogs from Around the World (a completely and entirely non-commercial site) I am trying to gather in one place the very best of global blogging about farms, farming, rural life and anything concerning the production of food and fibre.

    You were recommended to me by Mary Barrosse Schwartz from Bosky Dell Farm in Vermont

    I’ve done a post about her recommendations which you can find at http://farmblogs.blogspot.com/2008/09/bosky-dell-farm-recommends.html

    You can find the blog roll, sorted by country (and a General Interest section).

    My posts are made up of the blog recommendations from farm bloggers and I also post regular stories about world farming.

    All blogs have been recommended to me by other bloggers or identified by me during my occassional browsing.

    I have a pretty broad definition of farming – if you’re producing food or fibre, on whatever scale, you’re a farmer, to my mind at least.

    So blogs range from ranches to part-time smallholders, and resources for them.

    Once recommended, I add them to the blogroll and then contact the bloggers (just as I am contacting you), asking them to send me a few words about their farm/small-holding and their blog and, critically, to recommend their favourite farm/farming blogs (just as Bosky Dell Farm recommended you).

    And so it goes and grows.

    I have added you to my blog roll but I am trying to provide a little more info besides each link – namely location; acreage; stock and crops raised).

    I would very much appreciate it if you could please consider:

    a) writing to me with a brief description of your blog and holding (at a minimum location; acreage; stock and crops in order to help people find like minded souls) along with permission for a once off only use of a couple of photos from your blog, so that I can make a posting about you;

    b) writing to me with your favourite farming/rural blogs recommendations;

    c) add a link on your blog, if that’s possible, to http://www.farmblogs.blogspot.com; and if you can find a moment even make a posting about http://www.farmblogs.blogspot.com and how this blog is growing organically accross the world from other farming bloggers.

    d) please feel free to send me the odd photo, both now and on an on-going basis (people who do this write to me about once a month, with a brief para of text and up to 5 photos – again it helps drive traffic to them). The blog tries to pick up different seasonal activities in different parts of the world at different times, so any photos would be much appreciated – they also help drive traffic to your site.

    I know this is a drag but a lot of people are finding that my blog is driving a lot of traffic to them, so I hope you can find a moment to drop me a line. Very much hoping to hear from you,

    With kind regards,

    Ian

    http://www.farmblogs.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

